My lovely fiance comes to many of my weddings with me – as I always tell my couples, he sits in the back, he’s very quiet, he wears a tie, and he takes pictures for me. Afterwards, I thank him profusely and buy him dinner (it’s a business expense, right?).

There are occasions when he cannot come to my weddings, and I’m always a little sad, because I love having photos to share and look back on and talk about!

And this was one of those weddings – back in November, Jaseem & Genevieve got married at the Oakeside Mansion, in Bloomfield, New Jersey – a beautiful old house, with gardens in the back, where the ceremony was held.  They had a sweet ceremony, with some wonderful traditions and rituals included, that I’ve been telling people about, and I was so excited when I saw their professional photos were up, so I could share them!

They each chose the same vows to read, one of my favorites:

I, Genevieve, take you, Jaseem, to be my husband,
my friend, my love, and my lifelong companion.
To share my life with yours,
To build our dreams together,
to support you through times of trouble,
and to rejoice with you in times of happiness.
I promise to treat you with respect, love and loyalty
through all the trials and triumphs of our lives together.
This commitment is made in love, kept in faith,
lived in hope, and eternally made new.

And they also had a sand ceremony, and a garland exchange, to honor Jaseem’s Indian heritage.  Genevieve’s parents came forward to present the garlands to the bride and groom, who then passed the garlands over one another.  This ritual symbolizes the mutual acceptance, of both the bride and groom for each other as husband and wife, but also for the parents, welcoming their new daughter or son into the family.

It was one of my last weddings of the fall, just after Halloween, and they had a beautiful, clear fall day.

Nearly six months later – congratulations again, Geneveieve & Jaseem!  I know you both will spend the rest of your lives making each other happy.

Photos courtesy of Jaseem’s Flickr.

