I’ve had a personal account on Facebook since 2004 (eek), but just put a public page together for Eclectic Unions!  Feel free to go over and become a fan!

I love mail.  I love checking my mail box every day, I love hand labeling envelopes, I love going to the post office… it’s just one of my quirks!

I must admit, when I read about the postal hikes, I was a little sad that I couldn’t use the fun little 2008 love stamps anymore! I just adore this little guy, carrying that huge heart.  So cute!

And then I saw the new wedding stamps for 2009… and my heart sank.  I just hate the photograph of the rings… I really miss the lovely little green intertwined heart!

2008

2008

2009

2009

I’ve been watching the USPS website, waiting to see what the new Love stamps would look like… and they were announced this past Friday!  I was not disappointed!

On May 8, 2009, in Washington, DC, the Postal Service™ will issue a 44–cent, Love: King and Queen of Hearts definitive stamp with two different designs in a convertible booklet of 20 stamps. The stamp was designed by Derry Noyes of Washington, DC, and Jeanne Greco of New York, New York.

Since the beginning of its popular Love stamps in 1973, the U.S. Postal Service® is paying clever tribute to the world’s favorite “game” with the issuance of the King and Queen of Hearts, the latest stamps in the Love series. Artist Jeanne Greco, New York, New York, created the art on her computer for the two stamp designs, one showing the King and one showing the Queen, by using images from 18th Century French playing cards as a reference.

Over the years, the Love stamps have featured a wide variety of designs, including heart motifs, colorful flowers, and the word “LOVE” itself.

So, goodbye, little heart guy… hello, King & Queen of Hearts… I’m excited for you to begin gracing my correspondence!

Did you stock up on Forever stamps before the postal increase on May 11, or are you a stamp lover like me, and can’t wait for the new designs?

