Jessica and Steve got married in the beautiful Kirkpatrick Chapel, on the grounds of Rutgers, in New Brunswick, NJ.  They wanted a secular interpretation of a traditional Christian ceremony, so I worked with them to personalize a few elements and really make the ceremony feel like them (like a few mentions of their cats and the story of their engagement).

Jess&Steve1

They used one of my suggested vows, which I just love, and did them “repeat after me style,” where I broke them into chunks, and they repeated them – no memorization, and no little piece of paper to hold – they could just look at each other.

I, Steve, take you, Jessica, to be my wife, my friend, my love, and my lifelong companion.  I promise to treat you with respect, love, and loyalty, through all the trials and tribulations of our lives together.  This commitment is made in love, kept in faith, lived in hope, and eternally made new.

Jess&Steve3

They also had a reading, a version of 1st Corinithians 13 that I particularly liked:

Love is patient and love is kind.  It is not jealous or conceited or proud.  Love is not ill-mannered or selfish or irritable.  Love does not keep a record of wrongs.  Love is not happy with evil but is happy with the truth.  Love never gives up – and its faith, hope, and patience never fail.  Love is eternal.

Meanwhile, the three remain: faith, hope, and love – and the greatest of these is love.

We also included a brief ring blessing, as well as a final blessing, during the closing remarks.

Jess&Steve4

I loved that Jessica had her bridesmaids choose any blue dress to wear, and I think the results were beautiful!  The chapel is across the street from the train station, and Jessica was hoping a train would come by and toot their horn during the ceremony!  Alas, it was the only disappointment she had that day, as no train came by during the ceremony, so it was completely silent (which any other bride would have thought was fabulous)!

Jess and Steve, many thanks for sharing your wedding with me.  And congratulations again!

Jess&Steve2

(All pictures courtesy of Donald Yeager)

